

# White Coat Ceremony Doctor of Medicine (MD) Program Tuesday, August 27, 2024

# Alumni Hall, Western University 10:00 a.m. ET

London, Ontario, Canada

## SCHULICH SCHOOL OF MEDICINE & DENTISTRY

The Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry has a long tradition of excellence, beginning with the founding of the medical school in 1881 and continuing with the formation of the dental school in 1964.

Our reputation has been built by dedicated teachers, breakthrough discoveries, our commitment to social responsibility and our affinity for strategic partnerships.

Today, Schulich Medicine & Dentistry is a leading Canadian centre of outstanding education and research shaping health care for the next generation.

# **WESTERN UNIVERSITY**

Founded in 1878, Western University delivers an exemplary learning experience that engages the best and brightest people, challenging them to meet ever-higher standards in the classroom and beyond.

Western informs every dimension of a student – intellectual, social, cultural as well as physical. From our home in London, Ontario, Canada, outward across every continent, Western prepares future leaders to succeed.

# **LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

We acknowledge that Western University is located on the traditional lands of the Anishinaabek, Haudenosaunee, Lunaapéewak and Chonnonton nations, on lands connected with the London Township and Sombra Treaties of 1796 and the Dish with One Spoon Covenant Wampum.

We respect the longstanding relationships that Indigenous Nations have to this land, as they are the original caretakers.

We acknowledge historical and ongoing injustices that Indigenous Peoples (e.g. First Nations, Métis and Inuit) endure in Canada, and we accept responsibility as a public institution to contribute toward revealing and correcting miseducation as well as renewing respectful relationships with Indigenous communities through our teaching, research and community service.

## **ORDER OF CEREMONY**

#### MASTER OF CEREMONIES WELCOME

George Kim, Associate Dean Admissions

#### LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Taylore Shalovsky, Medicine Class of 2025 Aaron Lewis, Medicine Class of 2025

#### **DEAN'S ADDRESS**

John Yoo, Dean, Schulich Medicine & Dentistry

#### **GUEST SPEAKER'S ADDRESS**

Chitra Prasad, Professor, Department of Paediatrics

#### **Presentation of White Coats**

#### **O**RATORS

Shannon Venance, Vice Dean, Medical Education Larry Jacobs, Associate Dean, Schulich Medicine Windsor Campus

#### **CLOAKERS**

Anna Farias, Anatomy Specialist and Learning Lead, Schulich Medicine Windsor Campus Jedrin Ngungu, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry Chitra Prasad, Professor, Department of Paediatrics Robert Stein, Associate Dean, Learner Experience Alice Tsui, Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education, Windsor Campus Teresa Van Deven, Associate Director Curriculum Oversite, Medical Education

#### **ADMINISTRATION OF THE PHYSICIAN'S PLEDGE**

Robert Stein, Associate Dean, Learner Experience

#### HIPPOCRATIC COUNCIL PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

Syeda (Taliya) Rizvi, Medicine Class of 2027

#### **CLASS PHOTO**

Class photo will take place immediately after the Ceremony, on University College Hill.

# THE PHYSICIAN'S PLEDGE

As a member of the medical profession,

I SOLEMNLY PLEDGE to dedicate my life to the service of humanity;

THE HEALTH AND WELL-BEING OF MY PATIENT will be my first consideration;

I WILL RESPECT the autonomy and dignity of my patient;

I WILL MAINTAIN the utmost respect for human life;

I WILL NOT PERMIT considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing, or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;

I WILL RESPECT the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;

I WILL PRACTISE my profession with conscience and dignity and in accordance with good medical practice;

I WILL FOSTER the honour and noble traditions of the medical profession;

I WILL GIVE to my teachers, colleagues, and students the respect and gratitude that is their due;

I WILL SHARE my medical knowledge for the benefit of the patient and the advancement of healthcare;

I WILL ATTEND TO my own health, well-being, and abilities in order to provide care of the highest standard;

I WILL NOT USE my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;

I MAKE THESE PROMISES solemnly, freely, and upon my honour.

©2017 World Medical Association Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All intellectual property rights in the Declaration of Geneva are vested in the World Medical Association.

# CANDIDATES FOR DOCTOR OF MEDICINE, CLASS OF 2028

Reza Abbasi Sarah Bilgasem

Rhonda Abdel-Nabi Helen Boles

Salem Abu Al-Burak Jake Brill

Poorshad Afshar Shuhan Bu

Aliza Ahmed Nikita Burman

Mahma Ahmed Carly Burow

Minhal Ahmed Abu Bakar Butt

Rayyan Akhand Katherine Chan

Yaser Al Moayad Victoria Chharawala

Hamzah Algodi Rachiel Chirara

Naziha Ali John Chmiel

Taif Ali Bhavneet Chohan

Caroline Alionte Shehla Choudhary

Ibrahim Alsalkhadi Vibha Choudhary

Moad Alsefaou Amina Choudhry

Oviya Ananthakrishnan Jephanie Chow

Muhammad Ans Jadyn Clark

Juanita Atton Natalia Dabrowski

Dina Babiker Madhura Deshpande

Ria Bagga Mishita Dharia

Samin Barakati Rachel-Ann Dixon

Abigaile Beamish Jasmeen Dourka

Tara Behtashi Lucas Drew

Michelle Beyn Joshua Duckman

Reyad Elzaanoun Nima Karimi

Renee-Gabrielle Fajardo Mebaa Kassa

Balsam Fasih Karnig Kazazian

Joshua Garcia-Barrios Eden Kemal

Kelly Ge Fatima Khaliq

Apple Geng Pranav Khatri

Jade Gilchrist Ojan Khosravifar

Jessica Girard Shahithra Kirubalingam

Maria Grigorescu Rachel Klein

Virginia Guisandes Bueno Glenna Kramer

Bharat Gupta Nellie Krougly

Hayden Hartwick Tovan Lew

Shahil Hossain Brenda Lin

Rowaida Hussein Yiming Lin

Victoria Iannetta Zi Qi Lin

Syed Asad Irfan Kymberly Litman

Christian James-McDonald Mikayla Livingston

Ashitija Jasrai Jaimeson Lortie

Mathanky Jeyakumar Paramveer Love

Bernie Jin Jasmine Luo

Gurwinder Johal Siddhant Maini

Dhvanil Joshi Ivan Makkar

Amol Kaur Kalra Nima Malakoti-Negad

Ravnoor Kang Praveen Manickavel

Laís Marques Eiras Justin Ovadia

Ethan Martin Elsa Oyerinde

Mehvish Masood Prey Parikh

Frank Mazza Mitchell Pellarin

Nithin Menon Allison Pert

Alan Michaud Geoffrey Phillips

Hannan Minhas Maia Poon

Melissa Misztal Seth Prakhar

Saanvi Mital Alicia Prance

Alexander Jake Moersch Kendra Prasad

Jaefer Mohamad Alex Prosserman

Ahmed Mohamed Aine Pucchio

Sneha Mukherjee Noor-Ul-Ain Qureshi

Ebenezeer Mussie Samiha Rahman

Michael Nakhla Nina Rajapakse

Jarshini Nanthakumar Daniel Rayner

Sajjha Nawab Zoha Raza

Mahmoud Nour Michael Roes

Feyi Obiri Maria Rueda

Abdullah Odeh Joseph Russell

Nathan Oelschlagel Hyun Ryu

Maryanne Oketch Sara Sadeghi

Ida-Ehosa Immanuel Olaye Adrian Sammy

Cornelius Osei-Owusu Sage Sandhu

Anya Sarma Elijah Van Dinther

Renée Schryer Jocelyn Veals

Allison Scott Victor Velehorschi

Gresha Shah Jasnoor Verma

Ariela Shahvar Eva Vieira

Marina Shaker Mathavan Vije

Shreya Sharma Kiven Vuong

Ali Shirzad Jun Wang

Meena Shweitar RuoDing (Christina) Wang

Andra Sterea Tracy Wang

Michael Su Sajid Wariach

Gracie Sun Bethany Wilken

Wayne Sun Joshua Williams

Isha Suri Angel Wong

Leif Swinamer Kevin Wong

Mona Taboun Suzy Wong

Cherisse Tan Cole Wyman

Bryn Tannar Emily Xu

Sai Surabi Thirugnanasampanthar Terence Yeung

Jennifer Tran Silas Yip

Ashley Truesdale Vagif Zeynalli

Venkat Vaibhav Ethan Zhang

Martha Valmana Crocker Alice Zheng



# **Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry**

Western University London, Ontario, Canada